Early Stage Researcher 3.4: Carlos Hernandez Matas

I’m Carlos Hernández Matas, the person appointed as Early Stage Researcher 3.4 of the REVAMMAD project. That means that I will be doing research related to hypertension for 36 months at the Institute of Computer Science of the Foundation for Research and Technology – Hellas (FORTH-ICS), in Heraklion, Greece. I will also spend some time working at the University of Padova, in Italy, and at the University of Lincoln, in England. In addition, I will pursue my Ph.D. at the Computer Science Department of the University of Crete, in Greece.

The objectives of my position involve 3 main points:

  • The application of algorithms for automatic identification of retinal vessels for clinical parameters related to hypertension.
  • Developing realiable algorithms for automatic registration of retinal images acquired at different time periods (follow up examinations).
  • Comparison of dimensions and clinical parameters in healthy and hypertensive patients in order to provide a predictive tests for hypertension from retinal images.

I hold a Master of Science in Systems, Control and Robotics from the Royal Institute of Technology, in Stockholm, Sweden, where I specialized in computer vision, machine learning and artificial intelligence. I also have a Bachelor in Telecommunications Engineering with major in Electronic Systems from the Technical University of Madrid, Spain. My professional experience involves working as software engineer and teaching assistant, among others. Some more information about me can be found in my personal webpage: http://carlos.hernandez.im

Currently I’m working on applying registration and super resolution algorithms to retinal fundus images, as a way to improve the information provided by single images, as well to be able to track temporal differences that may exist (usually, caused by different sicknesses).

But I will save details regarding my research for a future post, as this one is intended to be just a short presentation about myself!

Leave a Reply

